You are here

One for the Books

On October 3, 2012, LCNV shined at the One for the Books gala, held at the George Washington Masonic Memorial. The Northern Virginia community honored the Council’s 50th year of bringing much needed literacy services to the community. Together, old and new supporters raised nearly $40,000 for the Council’s programs!

One for the Books was filled with a festive and energizing spirit. The Literacy Council held a raffle for a week-long stay in St. John, which raised approximately $10,000 alone for its programs. Steve Beggs was the lucky winner! Attendees also had the unique opportunity to hear from a LCNV student, Fatima, and learn how literacy has changed her and her children’s lives.

The Literacy Council extends a big thank you to Safeway, its signature sponsor, and Robert Egger, who served as Master of Ceremonies. The Council would also like to thank José Andrés, David Baldacci, and Ric Edelman for sharing how literacy has impacted their lives.

Highlighting the partnership between the LCNV and Wish You Well Foundation, Baldacci stated: “I would urge all of you to do as much as you can. Quite frankly, there could be no higher purpose in the nation.”

Edelman stressed the importance of financial literacy. Andrés emphasized the long-term impact that literacy has on an individual’s sense of independence and career. Further advocating for LCNV, Andrés publicly made the first contribution to LCNV’s challenge grant!During the event, Kitty Porterfield, Board President, announced that an anonymous donor challenged the Council to raise gifts from new donors, as well as increased gifts from existing donors The challenge will match these gifts dollar-for-dollar up to $25,000.

Many attendees purchased books and had them signed by Egger, Andres, Baldacci, and Edelman. Another highlight of the event included warm remarks from Congressman Jim Moran, as well as State Senator Barbara Favola, who presented the Literacy Council with a proclamation.

The Literacy Council also extends a very warm thank you to the One for the Books Committee. The following volunteers were instrumental in making this event a huge success: Mark Troppe, One for the Books Chair; Jan Auerbach; Avis Black; Cathleen Donnelly; Sally Jaggar; Misty Jones; Sarah Kenney; Sue Thaler; and Robin Walker.




Tags:  support LCNV